PicturePhoto from http://pixabay.com 71278
This year I took on a new role; I left the classroom and took a Learning Support Teacher position. I left the comfort and familiarity of the classroom and learning I’d come to know and although I was ready for the change, I didn’t quite know what I would face. 

I learned, quickly, how much I loved some parts of my new role. I loved how intimately I got to learn about my students’ learning styles, their strengths and the relationships we built so quickly. I see my small groups daily and get to spend time with students in many different grades and I appreciate that special time with each of them. 

I also work with English Language Learners and one of my students had just arrived to Canada, from India, just days before school began. He came, knowing no English. He is a small-framed, very young child who was trying to learn and understand the “school” system, communicate with others, find his way around these unfamiliar surroundings and was so overwhelmed by his new environment. 

We worked together daily for a number of weeks, him parroting my language. He tried to learn his colours, numbers and letters and attempted “survival” language but was really struggling. He was sad and frustrated. My heart ached for a way to reach him, a way to help him gain some ways to communicate and connect with his peers ~ connect to anyone. 

Then one morning, as we walked from his classroom to my room, he silently reached up and held my hand. 















This role has reaffirmed the importance of connections and care. That learning comes when children feel safe and when they are ready. As educators, we provide the opportunities, but children will come in their own time. 

The feeling of his tiny hand in mine, walking in silence, spoke a million words. 

My heart was full. 




Leave a Reply.